Healthy Meals Monday ~ Taco Pizza

A couple years ago I bought a book called Eat Well, Lose Weight because I wanted us to eat healthy.  Kyle and I are fairly healthy people.  We like to hit the gym regularly (although I’ve been slacking lately) and just so we don’t pack on the LBs, I’ve been trying to cook a little healthier as well.

I used to think that if something is healthy it probably isn’t very good.  I was quite wrong.  I am finding a lot of yummy recipes in this cookbook!  I have a scrapbook recipe book that I keep all my favorite recipes in so I don’t have to thumb through hundreds of recipes.  So several of these I have scrapbooked and shared with my mom and my bestie because they are the ones that ask for copies.  Last night my mother-in-law saw something we were eating and decided she wanted to buy this recipe book because she has seen so many meals that I have cooked from it that she thought looked good.

Since more and more people are starting to get interested in these recipes, I thought I would start sharing some of my favorite ones.  I will start posting recipes on Mondays and will find a way to share my digital scrapbook recipe with everyone so you can print it out yourselves.  I don’t have one this week because I just came up with this about an hour ago 🙂  So here is recipe one that we tried for the first time tonight and I thought it was WAY yummy!

Taco Pizza

Prep: 30 minutes
Rise: 30 minutes
Bake: 16 minutes
Oven: 425 degrees F

NUTRITION FACTS per serving:
Calories: 284
Total Fat:  10g (4g sat. fat)
Cholesterol: 38mg
Protein: 17g
Carbohydrate: 33g
Fiber: 3g
Sodium: 261mg

INGREDIENTS:

1     recipe Pizza Dough (I just bought the canned pizza from Wal-Mart)
1     cup shredded reduced-fat cheddar cheese (4 ounces)
12   ounces extra-lean ground beef
1     medium onion, chopped
2/3 cup salsa
1 1/2 cups chopped tomato
1/2 to 1 cup shredded lettuce and/or spinach
1     cup packaged baked tortilla chips, coarsely crushed
Light dairy sour cream (optional)

DIRECTIONS:
1.  Prepare pizza dough.  Preheat oven to 425*F.  Grease a 12-inch round pizza pan; set aside.  Punch down dough; let rest for 10 minutes.  On a lightly floured surface, roll dough to a 13-inch circle.  Transfer to prepared pizza pan, allowing excess dough to extend over edge of pan.  Sprinkle half of the cheese in a thin strip around the edge of the dough.  Moisten edge of dough.  Fold edge over cheese in a thin strip around the edge all over.  Bake about 10 minutes or until lightly browned.

2.  Meanwhile, in a large skillet cook beef and onion until beef is brown and onion is tender.  Drain off fat.  Stir in 2/3 cup salsa into the beef mixture.  Spoon beef mixture on crust.  Bake for 5 minutes more.  Sprinkle with tomatoes and remaining cheese.  Bake for 1 to 2 minutes more or until cheese melts.

3.  To serve, cut pizza into eight wedges.  Top with lettuce or tortilla chips.  If desired, serve with sour cream and additional salsa.  Makes 8 servings.

Kristi’s tips:
Lately, I have been buying almost everything in the Light or Reduced-Fat version if it is available.  I haven’t been disappointed with any of them either.

For this meal I strayed from the recipe more than normal.  First of all I bought a can of the Pillsbury Pizza Crust because I’m too lazy busy to make a crust from scratch.  Kyle makes some AWESOME salsa, so we used his salsa instead of store bought.  Being as I just bought a TON of green chili, I added some chopped green chili to our pizza.  You will notice that one side of our pizza looks different than the other.  That’s because Kyle doesn’t like tomatoes and I don’t like crunchy things, so I customized our halves of the pizza.  I also used Romaine lettuce instead of iceberg lettuce.

Don’t worry if your recipe doesn’t look anything like mine because my meals NEVER look like the picture in the recipe book.

ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

