30 Before 30 ~ Craftiness

One thing on my 30 before 30 list is to do 20 DIY projects.  I’m actually doing really well on that goal; steadily on my way there.  I’ve done several projects.  I have made the shirt that Kylee is going to wear on her birthday (pictures of that will be on her birthday post), I’ve made Kylee some cute headbands, I made a pin board to hold all of the cards we get from our family and friends, I made a snowman hat for Kylee, and I also made a bow holder to hold Kylee’s growing collection of bows and headbands.

The first thing I made was this pin board.  I see a lot of boards like this, but never in a pattern I like, big as I want, or as nice as I want.  So I decided to make one!  I bought a roll of corkboard and glued it onto a poster board.  Then I put two layers of batting on the board and covered it with the material that I liked.  After that I glued ribbon in a crisscross pattern.  I bought flat push pins and a set of black square brads from the scrapbooking section at Hobby Lobby.  I cut the prongs off the brads and glued the squares to the push pin, then glued them where the ribbon intersected.  I also made extras to pin stuff up.  I had measure the board to fit inside a frame that I had bought in the custom frame isle when they were half off at Hobby Lobby.

The next project I did was Kylee’s bow holder.  I simply bought a wooden K and a piece of scrapbook paper that I liked cut to fit the K and glued on.  I bought some hooks that screw on and painted them purple to match the paper.  Then I simply glued on ribbon to the back of the K to hang it and to clip the bows onto!

This is my project that I just finished today.  This is the first hat that I’ve made and I love how it turned out but there are some changes that I will make if I ever make another.  I saw this snowman hat and a penguin hat that I thought I would try to make myself.  I couldn’t find a tutorial on how to make it so I had to wing it.  I’m actually very proud of myself with how well it turned out with no instruction.  This one was way too much to try to explain, but maybe one day I will post a tutorial.  Kylee doesn’t look happy about the hat but it’s because she’s not feeling well, I promise!

I’m hoping to post more of these with instructions on how I did them so I can participate in Crafty Friday that the Crafty Nest hosts.  Hope everyone has a great weekend!  We are in Albuquerque for the Balloon Fiesta so stay tuned for pictures of all the hot air balloons!


Featured On The  Crafty Nest

Leave a Reply

